Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award

Over a three-decade career at Oregon State, Oscar Humberto Montemayor served the OSU community with diligence and grace. He was limitlessly dedicated to the success of students. After graduating from Oregon State, Oscar served as the academic counselor with the College Assistance Migrant Program for many years and later served as the Associate Director for Academic Success with Diversity & Cultural Engagement. Through his deeds and spirit, Oscar was himself a home away from home for countless Oregon State students.

Following his passing in October 2016, a colleague wrote that, Oscar “was a friend, mentor, colleague, elder, witness, storyteller, and joyful comrade in this struggle for justice. He was loved, respected, and cherished by all who met him.”

A student remembered that “Oscar was truly a force of good in a world that is tragically full of sorrow. Always smiling, always concerned, always putting the needs of others ahead of himself.”

Finally, a colleague noted that “Oscar was a leader for social justice in ways that we cannot even count, or recognize, because they are so widespread and ubiquitous.”

In recognition of Oscar’s lasting legacy at Oregon State, the Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award honors an Oregon State student who embodies Oscar’s ethos of selfless service; steady, strong, considerate leadership; and trailblazing spirit and heart.

Nomination Criteria

Students nominated for the award should be:

  • A community builder and connector who brings individuals together and helps create a home away from home for Oregon State students from underrepresented communities;
  • A trailblazer who creates and organizes to lift up, support and celebrate individuals and communities;
  • A quiet, steady, considerate, under-the-radar leader who goes above and beyond the call of their role out of love and care for their community; and,
  • A spark who brings life, laughter, spirit and resilience to their actions and deeds.

Nomination Process

For reference purposes, the nomination form is available for download here. Nominators may submit multiple nominations.

Nominations are closed for 2024. Recipients will be announced at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Peace Breakfast on Monday, Jan. 15.

Past Recipients

  • 2024: Faisal Osman
  • 2023: Nya Buckner
  • 2022: Cazandra Aporbo
  • 2021: James Duncan II, Lara Jacobs
  • 2020: Ruta Faifaiese, Winston Kennedy
  • 2019: Sofia Baum, Margaret Underwood
  • 2018: Demetrius Watts