Four legacy awards are awarded by the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration committee – the Phyllis S. Lee Award, the Frances Dancy Hooks Award, the Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award, and the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Alumni Legacy Award. The 2021 Legacy Awards will be presented at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Celebration Event, held remotely this year on Monday, January 18, 2021.

Phyllis S. Lee Award

The Phyllis S. Lee Award honors a member of the Oregon State community who exemplifies Dr. Lee’s commitment and dedication to social justice and the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.

2021 Award Winners
  • Allison Davis-White Eyes
  • Marilyn Stewart

Frances Dancy Hooks Award

The Frances Dancy Hooks Award recognizes Oregon State students, staff or faculty who exemplify Frances Dancy Hooks’ work: building bridges across cultures, showing courage in promoting diversity, and proudly “Walking the Talk.”

2021 Winner
  • Tenisha Tevis

Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award

  • The Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award was created to honor Oscar, who served the Oregon State community with incredible diligence and grace over a thirty-year career. The award honors a current Oregon State student who embodies Oscar’s ethos of selfless service; steady, strong, considerate leadership; and trailblazing spirit and heart.
2021 Winners
  • James Duncan II
  • Lara Jacobs

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Alumni Legacy Award

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Alumni Legacy Award recognizes alumni who have demonstrated a deep and abiding commitment to causes of social justice, diversity, equity and inclusion and who exemplify and enrich OSU’s values of community, diversity, respect and social responsibility in their broader community or organization.

2021 Winner
  • Román  Hernández