Four legacy awards are Presented by the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Commemoration committee – the Phyllis S. Lee Award, the Frances Dancy Hooks Award, the Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award and the Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Alumni Legacy Award.


Nominations now open for the 2024 Awards

Each award is accompanied by a $500 stipend. Recipients will be announced at the Peace breakfast on Jan. 15, 2024. Award nominations will be accepted until noon on Dec. 8, 2023

To submit your nomination, please click on the link for the appropriate award below.

Phyllis S. Lee Award

The Phyllis S. Lee Award honors a member of the Oregon State community who exemplifies Dr. Lee’s commitment and dedication to social justice and the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr.


Nomination Information

Frances Dancy Hooks Award

The Frances Dancy Hooks Award recognizes Oregon State students, staff or faculty who exemplify Frances Dancy Hooks’ work: building bridges across cultures, showing courage in promoting diversity, and proudly “Walking the Talk.”


Nomination Information

Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award

The Oscar Humberto Montemayor Award was created to honor Oscar, who served the Oregon State community with incredible diligence and grace over a thirty-year career. The award honors a current Oregon State student who embodies Oscar’s ethos of selfless service; steady, strong, considerate leadership; and trailblazing spirit and heart.


Nomination Information

Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Alumni Legacy Award

The Diversity, Equity and Inclusion Alumni Legacy Award recognizes alumni who have demonstrated a deep and abiding commitment to causes of social justice, diversity, equity and inclusion and who exemplify and enrich OSU’s values of community, diversity, respect and social responsibility in their broader community or organization.


Nomination Information