Phyllis S. Lee Award

In 2004, the President of Oregon State created this award to honor Dr. Phyllis S. Lee, former Director of the Office of Multicultural Affairs. The award honors a member of the OSU community who exemplifies Dr. Lee’s commitment and dedication to social justice and the teachings of Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. 

Selection criteria include:

  • Nominee demonstrates an exceptional history and current practice of initiating, supporting and sustaining social justice and human rights for all people, and especially the underrepresented and the underserved.
  • Nominee is a practitioner of Gandhi’s teaching: “You must be the change you want to see in the world.”
  • Nominee contributes in a number of ways so that the learning experiences of students and/or faculty and staff are enriched.
  • Nominee helps others to achieve the “greatness” that Dr. King speaks of.

Selection of recipients shall also include:

  • Intentional consideration of the “unsung,” the “behind the scenes” person who motivates and inspires, not just identification of those who have gained public acknowledgment and recognition.  
  • Consideration will also be given to those who devote themselves to social justice work in the context of higher education.

Nomination process

For reference purposes, the nomination form is available for download here. Nominators may submit multiple nominations.

Nominations are closed for 2024. Recipients will be announced at the Dr. Martin Luther King, Jr. Peace Breakfast on Monday, Jan. 15. 

Past Recipients

Past recipients of the Phyllis S. Lee Award include the following Oregon State community members:

  • 2024: Dr. Susan Rowe
  • 2023: Dorian Smith
  • 2022: Dr. Samantha Chisholm Hatfield
  • 2021: Allison Davis-White Eyes, Marilyn Stewart
  • 2020: Ed Ray
  • 2019: Michelle Bothwell
  • 2018: Linda Marie Richards
  • 2017: Oscar Humberto Montemayor, Larry Roper
  • 2016: Winston Cornwall
  • 2015: Janet Nishihara
  • 2014: Loren Chavarria
  • 2013: Mike O’Malley
  • 2012: Eric J. Hansen
  • 2011: Anne Gillies
  • 2010: Deanna Kingston
  • 2009: Joseph Krause
  • 2008: Kenneth Winograd
  • 2007: Lawrence Griggs
  • 2006: Sandy Tsuneyoshi
  • 2005: Roy Arnold